Are barbies good for little girls?

A very controversial subject recently is the unrealistic body image Barbie has set for young girls. I understand why people are getting mad over it considering Barbie’s are for young girls with the most influential minds.  It’s also not just girls who have to deal with these unrealistic body types, every gender has them. Personally when I was younger and played with Barbie’s I never thought ‘why don’t I look like that?’ but I know that doesn’t mean other little girls haven’t. It’s hard to watch people feel ugly when they are just looking for things about themselves to hate instead of looking for the good things. I’m also not sure Barbie is entirely to blame for that.

In recent years more and more unrealistic body standards (mainly for women.) have been popping up everywhere (movies, TV and ads) and its really kind of scary that so many young minds will compare themselves to these models. But it isn’t just in recent years that unhealthy body images have been advertised! I feel that the media should start using realistic women and men for they’re ads to show people beauty doesn’t one body type. Even in schools we could explain this further by not just saying that people in ads have unrealistic body types but also show what can be considered beautiful! It’s not some photo shopped super model or Barbie. We can’t stop everyone from being self-conscious because that’s impossible but we can show them how to feel beautiful and confident and that’s a start. As for Barbie’s I think they are great toys as long as little girls know that they don’t have to look like a Barbie to be beautiful. Whoever and wherever you are I hope you feel beautiful.

-Ireland

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

One thought on “Are barbies good for little girls?

  1. I have heard a lot about this recently. I agree that barbies are a very bad image for young girls. I wonder how many girls have been affected by them in their self esteem.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *